Madeira Archipelago

Record Public


The Madeira archipelago consists of 4 groups of volcanic islands (Madeira, Porto Santo, Desertas and the Selvagens Islands) in the Atlantic Ocean.
The Madeira island is the largest island, with a very rugged terrain and there are the following habitats: sea area, pebble beaches, cliffs, urbanized areas, farms, watercourses, forests, woods, deep valleys with steep or rugged slopes, mountains and plateaus.
The Porto Santo island is arid, mostly flat and there are the following habitats: sea area, islets, sandy beaches, urbanized areas, watercourses with riparian vegetation, freshwater ponds (dams), farms, woods and forests.
The Desertas islands consist of 3 islands arid, rocky with coastal cliffs: Deserta Grande, Bugio and Chão islet.
The Selvagens islands consist of 3 islands arid, rocky with coastal cliffs: Selvagem Grande, Selvagem Pequena and Fora islet.

Ornithological importance

In Madeira archipelago regularly occurs over 70 species of birds, which 3 are endemic species: Madeira Laurel Pigeon (Columba trocaz), Madeira Kinglet (Regulus madeirensis) and Zino's Petrel (Pterodroma madeira) and one endemic subspecies: Madeiran Chaffinch (Fringilla coelebs madeirensis). Equally of notice is the occurrence in the Madeira archipelago of Berthelot’s Pipit (Anthus berthelotii) and Fea's Petrel (Pterodroma feae), which are endemic to Macaronesia. In Desertas and Selvagens islands exists important seabird colonies, highlighting the Fea's Petrel (Pterodroma feae), Madeiran Storm-petrel (Oceanodroma castro), Bulwer's Petrel (Bulweria bulwerii), White-faced Storm-petrel (Pelagodroma marina), Little Shearwater (Puffinus assimilis) and the Cory's Shearwater (Calonectris diomedea).

Geographic information

32.787920°, -16.705357°



Information not yet available


Information not yet available

Land uses

Information not yet available

Conservation status

Information not yet available

Since 01/01/1974
Information in English
Information not yet available.