Record Public


Kenya is located in East Africa. It is bordered to the north by the South Sudan and Ethiopia, to the east by Somalia and Indian Ocean, to the west by Uganda and the south by the Tanzania. Kenya's territory lies on the equator.
Their national network of protected areas covers 8% of the territory, containing 22 national parks, 28 national reserves and 5 national sanctuaries.
Kenya has one of the richest avifauna in Africa, around 1090 bird species. Highlight to the presence of 7 endemic species, around 230 wintering migrants (palearctic and african), 40 with an unfavorable global conservation status, and 23 restricted-range species.

Ornithological importance

In Kenya 7 endemic species occur: Williams's Lark (Mirafra williamsi), Sharpe's Longclaw (Macronyx sharpei), Hinde's Pied-babbler (Turdoides hindei), Taita Thrush (Turdus helleri), Taita Apalis (Apalis fuscigularis), Tana River Cisticola (Cisticola restrictus), and Clarke's Weaver (Ploceus golandi). Highlight, also, for the occurrence of restricted-range species as Grey-crested Helmet-shrike (Prionops poliolophus), Jackson's Francolin (Francolinus jacksoni), Fischer's Turaco (Tauraco fischeri), White-winged Collared-dove (Streptopelia reichenowi), Chapin's Flycatcher (Muscicapa lendu), Sokoke Pipit (Anthus sokokensis), Amani Sunbird (Anthreptes pallidigaster), White-winged Apalis (Apalis chariessa), Sokoke Scops-owl (Otus ireneae) e Usambiro Barbet (Trachyphonus usambiro).

Geographic information

0.286413°, 37.676969°



Information not yet available


Information not yet available

Land uses

Information not yet available

Conservation status

Information not yet available

Since 01/01/1974
Information in English

Public records

Chyulu Hills

Not specific conservation status: Important bird area (IBA), National Park

Mount Kenya

Not specific conservation status: Important bird area (IBA), National Park

Tsavo East National Park

Specific conservation status: National Park
Information not yet available.